2023 in Review

Plo Koon Remix 2023

lucky number seven

And just like that, 2023 came and went. I traveled a lot, hung out with friends and family more, and built some LEGO creations in my spare time. Most of what I posted was small builds, and that holds true for Plo Koon Remix as well. Check it out:

  • This year I posted the fewest I’ve ever done, only 7 times for 7 creations: 4 vehicles, 2 droids, and 1 creature. My favorite was the ARC-170 Starfighter–I’ve been thinking about how to make the wings for several years now, and I was so happy with how it turned out!
  • I built a few other LEGO creations this year—but most of them haven’t even been posted yet! Pictured below are the things I actually finished building/photographing/editing. Many of them were constructed for LOLUG monthly challenges or collabs, but some were just for fun. My favorite was the Lunartics, which I built to commemorate our four-year space RPG coming to an end this year. Here’s to bigger and better builds in 2024 (including photographing/posting the ones I’ve made already)!
  • I almost went to Brickworld Chicago but then my job sent me on a tour of South America instead. Hard to turn that down.
  • Our LEGO expo Brick Days is always great! In Omaha I volunteered at a bunch of different stations including the tickets, help desk, and GBC. Plus I got to hang out with tons of builders, several from Chicago and the Dakotas. In Lincoln I helped run GBC and made some friends too. And then right after that, several of our creations were put on display at a legitimate art gallery, Gallery 92 West in Fremont!
  • I bought a new phone at the end of the year, which means next years’ photos will be even better!
2023 MOCs

Episode 7, four bogeys, The One, Uno Dos Tres Catorce, 2001, float, two buddies, space trilogy, one point, Jacks, grading on a curve, and a mighty nine

The Lunartics

The Lunartics

not just a ball contraption, but a Great Ball Contraption™

Leave a comment